Sunday, 7 October 2018

A wise man once said there are no perfect readers and there are no perfect writers


I was checking through my book reviews for my science fiction novel Zeeka Chronicles: Revenge of Zeeka on Amazon UK and US.
Admittedly, not all Amazon reviewers gave the book five stars.
A wise man once said 'there are no perfect readers and there are no perfect writers.' [Shiju H. Pallithazheth]

One reviewer said,” Fans of Twilight Zone and Outer Limits TV series episodes should find these shorts right up their alley.”
Another said.” I raced through this book - or more correctly I should say series of five books, bargain, as the story was so fast-moving and exciting.
On the odd occasions I did put it down to do other things, I found it had inspired my imagination.
It takes a special kind of author to invent the future-
I loved the shrinkenator idea.
There is so much going on in these books that this writer’s work will stick in your mind for a very long time.”
She gave the book 5 stars.

But the five-star review that really stunned me was this one.
“This was a strange read. Brenda Mohammed writes unlike anybody else I've read. She is such an incredible gift to this genre and is a great introduction if this isn't your usual brand of reading.
The characterization is spot on, even though the material is very futuristic, I still found myself recognising the flaws.
There were moments that reminded me of the work of M Night Shyamalan and that's what Mohammed does well - she creates stories that are easy to visualize. Fantastic. Definitely recommended."

I wondered who M Night Shyamalan was and I looked him up on the Internet.

Here is what I found: Manoj Nelliyattu Shyamalan born 6 August 1970) is an American film director, screenwriter, author, producer and actor known for making movies with contemporary supernatural plots and surprise endings. He was born in Puducherry, India and raised in Penn Valley, Pennsylvania.
His most well-received films include the supernatural horror thriller The Sixth Sense (1999), the superhero thriller Unbreakable (2000), the science fiction horror Signs (2002), and the historical drama-horror film The Village (2004).
For The Sixth Sense, Shyamalan received a nomination for the Academy Award for Best Director.
He was a producer for Devil (2010) and was instrumental in the creation of the Fox science fiction series Wayward Pines.
Shyamalan is also known for filming and setting his films in and around Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, where he was raised.
Most of his commercially successful films were co-produced and released by the Walt Disney Studios' Touchstone and Hollywood film imprints.
In 2008, Shyamalan was awarded the Padma Shri by the government of India.
I feel honoured to be compared with such a person.

In The Readers Favorite Book Award Contest, the book received an award in the category young adult thriller, and I quote from Readers Favorite: “The judges simply read the book and score it based on its merits.”

Follow Brenda Mohammed on AMAZON.CLICK HERE.